Menu
  

Alternatives to Lily

Lily is one of those baby names that you hear in many forms these days. If you'd like to explore other similar girl baby names, consult this list.

  • Camilla

    The Spanish Camila, pronounced ka-MEE-la, is the fastest rising version of this ancient Roman name, but recent royal Camilla may have helped promote the British brand. In Roman myth, Camilla was a... Read More 

  • Delilah

    Delilah has shed the stigma of its Biblical image, and is now appreciated for its haunting, melodic, feminine qualities. Checking out Delilah's popularity graph shows that Delilah's use is heading... Read More 

  • Ella

    Ella has parallel derivations, first as the Norman variation of the Germanic Alia—itself a nickname for names containing the element ali. It’s also a Hebrew name, referring to a tree in... Read More 

  • Finlay

    Finlay is a Scottish royal name (it belonged to Macbeth"s father) that was sounding a tad fusty before several celeb parents revived it. Angie Harmon and Jason Sehorn, Daniel Baldwin and Lisa... Read More 

  • Finley

    This was a 100 percent boys’ names until celebs Jason Sehorn and Angie Harmon bestowed it on their daughter, recently followed by Lisa Marie Presley,... Read More 

  • Flora

    Flora, the name of the Roman goddess of flowers and spring, who enjoyed eternal youth, is one of the gently old-fashioned girls' flower names we think is due for a comeback--alongside cousins Cora... Read More 

  • Ivy

    Ivy is derived from the name of the ivy plant, which got its name from the Old English word ifig. Ancient Greeks presented an ivy wreath to newlyweds as a symbol of fidelity. In the... Read More 

  • Leila

    Leila was popularized in the West by the poet Byron, who used it in his poem Don Juan for a ten-year-old Turkish girl. Leila also appears as a fairy in the Gilbert & Sullivan comic opera... Read More 

  • Libby

    Through all the years when Betty, Betsy, Beth, Liz, and Lizzie were the Elizabethan nicknames of choice, the bubblier Libby was set aside, but today it may be the most modern of all—it has already... Read More 

  • Lila

    Lila was derived from the Arabic word laylah, meaning “night.” It has separate roots in Sanskrit with the meaning “play.” In Hinduism, Lila is a conceptualism of the universe as a... Read More 

See All List Categories