Menu

Alternatives to Lucy

Baby girl name you love but fear is overused? Here are some possible substitutes.

  • Daisy

    Daisy, fresh, wholesome, and energetic, is one of the flower names that burst back into bloom after a century's hibernation. Daisy is now second only to Delilah among most popular Read More 

  • Dulcie

    A sweet-meaning and sounding name dating back to the Roman Empire, and later found in the antebellum South, Dulcie has in the modern era been heard most often in Australia.

    In Agatha... Read More 

  • Ivy

    Ivy is derived from the name of the ivy plant, which got its name from the Old English word ifig. Ancient Greeks presented an ivy wreath to newlyweds as a symbol of fidelity. In the... Read More 

  • Josie

    Josie is jaunty and friendly: among the most winning of all nickname names. She's been on the social security list since records began being kept.... Read More 

  • Louisa

    Louisa, a quaint vintage name, is an example of the idea that these days, old-style girls’ names are more fashionable when they end with an... Read More 

  • Lucy

    Lucy is the English form of the Roman Lucia, which derives from the Latin word "lux" meaning "light." Lucy and Lucia were at one time given to girls born at dawn. Lucy can alternatively be spelled... Read More 

  • Lulu

    Lula has a firecracker personality, a singing and dancing extrovert. Interesting that Lulu was a Top 100 name when the Social Security list was born in 1880, but it's been sliding ever since and... Read More 

  • Mae

    Mae is derived from May, the month name that was chosen for its connection to Maia, the Roman goddess of growth and motherhood. Mae can be used as a nickname for the names Mary and... Read More 

  • Maisie

    Maisie, a hundred-year-old favorite, is in perfect tune with today. Spelled Maisy in a popular children's book series, Maisie is rising in tandem with cousin Daisy. While Maisie might be short for... Read More 

  • Posey

    Posey is fashionable in England, a country of gardeners, but this pretty bouquet-of-flowers name is rarely heard here. A possible alternative to Rosy or short form for Josephine. Posey (or Posy or... Read More 

See All List Categories