Names Searched Right Now:

If You Like Amanda, You Might Love...

Amanda was so well used in the last two decades of the 20th century that this lovely name feels a bit tired now. For some alternatives to Amanda, consult this list.
Rate This List:
  • Amabel

    Gender: F Rate:

    Amabel is an older name than Annabel and a lot more distinctive. Amabel was a very common name in the twelfth and thirteen centuries, then was revived during the nineteenth century British fad for ... Read More 

  • Amanda

    Gender: F Rate:

    After a long run as the prettiest senior in class, this romantic name has lost some of its glossy sheen, though it's still quite lovely and well used. Amanda was one of the romantic-sounding names... Read More 

  • Amandine

    Gender: F Rate:

    This fragrant, almond-scented name has hardly been heard in this country, which is a pity--we've loved it since John Malkovich used it for his now grown daughter. A French diminutive of Amanda, it... Read More 

  • Amity

    Gender: F Rate:

    Amity--what nicer gift to give your little girl than a name that signifies friendship and harmony? This virtue name is also more rhythmic and feminine than the single-syllable Hope, Faith, and Grac... Read More 

  • Araminta

    Gender: F Rate:

    Araminta is an enchanting eighteenth-century playwright's invention familiar in Britain and just beginning to be discovered here. It was created by the versatile Sir John Vanbrugh, architect of Ble... Read More 

  • Aurora

    Gender: F Rate:

    Aurora, the poetic name of the Roman goddess of sunrise whose tears turned into the morning dew, and of (Disney's) Sleeping Beauty, would be sure to make any little girl feel like a princess. The... Read More 

  • Camilla

    Gender: F Rate:

    The Spanish Camila, pronounced ka-MEE-la, is the fastest rising version of this ancient Roman name, now in the Top 50, but recent royal Camilla may have helped promote the British brand. In Roman m... Read More 

  • Electra

    Gender: F Rate:

    Though the tragedies of the Greeks and Eugene O'Neill that used this name are filled with incest and murder, Electra is still a brilliant choice. Isabella Rossellini chose the gentler Italian verso... Read More 

  • Evangeline

    Gender: F Rate:

    Evangeline is a romantic old name enjoying a major comeback, thanks to its religious overtones, Eva's popularity, and the hot star of the TV megahit Lost , Evangeline Lilly. Evangelica and Evangeli... Read More 

  • Miranda

    Gender: F Rate:

    Miranda, a shimmeringly lovely, poetic name that was invented by Shakespeare for the beautiful and admirable young heroine of his play, The Tempest , is still a recommended choice even though its p... Read More 

See All List Categories

You might also like these lists: