Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 21 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Pet Names I'm Sick Of Hearing

Background: I'm currently a 2nd year vet student, which means I've spent a LOT of time working in vet clinics, shelters, pet-centric community events, etc. Just like with names for children, some names for pets are really prevalent, uncreative, and in my opinion, really overdone. While I understand the reasoning behind giving a child a more traditional name, I think that naming pets is really a good time to let creativity come out. After all, the other dogs at the dog park are not going to tease your dog for having an unusual name! Now, I know sometimes there are extenuating circumstances (like you rescued the pet from a shelter situation and it came with a name it already responded to). But in 2 years when I go out into practice, I feel like I'm going to remember the patients with unique names a little more readily than those that have the same name as several other patients. For example, when the receptionist says "Mrs. Smith is on the line for you with a question about Bailey," I will probably think "Bailey... which Bailey? Bailey the lab? Bailey the australian shepherd?"

Anyway, long rant aside, here are some of the names I wish people would stop giving their pets.

Dogs: Bailey, Bear, Charlie, Max, Buddy, Rocky, Jack, Bella, Maggie, Princess, Sophie, Tinkerbell (especially on chihuahuas), Lucy, Lexi, Molly, Ellie, Gracie, Lucky, Luna, Zoe, Coco

Cats: Kitty, Tiger, Tigger, Smokey, Midnight, Lily, Callie (especially calico cats), Sophie, Gracie, Simba, Max, Milo, Oliver (yes, we have a cat in our family named this, but he's my brother's cat and my brother had final say on the name!)