Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

French Canadian Names- Thoughts?

Hi! I'm new to nameberry after being a long-time lurker.

I live in a bilingual area of Canada (outside of Québec). I attended a French-language school and then went to an English-speaking university. I realized quickly that alot of the names that were very popular in my area, were unheard of just two hours away! I've compiled a list of names I consider either typically French-Canadian or that are popular in my area but that I've rarely encountered else where.

Myself, I am only considering names that are easily pronounceable in both languages for my children.

I'd love to have your thoughts on some of them, whether you think they are usuable in a unilingual-English environment, or which ones are just unpronounceable. Also, if you think of any other names that you consider "typically French", please add!

(I left on the accents for authenticity, but most of them can be removed in English)

Girls/Filles
    Anabelle
    Anic/Anik
    Arianne
    Camille
    Caroline
    Céline
    Charlène
    Chantal(e)
    Christine
    Chloé
    Claudine
    Claudelle
    Danielle
    Erika
    Ève
    Florence
    Frédérique
    Janelle
    Janika
    Gabrielle
    Geneviève (nn Gen, like Jen)
    Joëlle
    Jocelyne
    Josée
    Josiane
    Jovielle
    Justine
    Karine/Karina
    Léa
    Louise
    Madeleine
    Marissa
    Mirabel
    Michèle
    Maélie
    Mylaine
    Natasha
    Noémie
    Renée
    Roxanne
    Samuelle (I met one girl with this name, I thought it was great)
    Sylvie
    Valérie
    Véronique
    Zoé

Boys/Garçons
    Alexandre/Alex
    André
    Antoine
    Christian
    Éric
    Félix
    François (nn Frank in English)
    Guillaume
    Jean
    Julien
    Martin
    Mathieu
    Maxime/Max
    Miguel
    Michaël (pronouced Mee-kah-elle)
    Paul
    Patrick
    Philippe
    Pierre
    René
    Samuel
    Sébastien
    Stéphane/Stéfan
    Vincent
    Xavier