Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

"Lord of the Rings" names

I don't know if there is a thread about this already (I'm pretty new to Nameberry and haven't yet had a chance to read through all the posts), but I just finished watching the "Lord of the Rings" movies and really loved them (I haven't had a chance to read the books though), and I just thought that all the names are really interesting (as well as the names of the actors who play them). I was just wondering if anyone knew anymore names from the series (especially the books) - I think it would make an interesting blog too (if there hasn't already been one). I don't think I would use most of these names as a first name, but maybe a middle. What do you think?

Aragorn - Viggo Mortensen
    Frodo - Elijah Wood
    Gandalf - Ian McKellan
    Galadriel - Cate Blanchett
    Arwen - Liv Tyler
    Elrond - Hugo Weaving
    Eowyn - Miranda Otto
    Legolas - Orlando Bloom
    Gimli - John Rhys-Davies
    Samwise "Sam" & Elanor Gamgee - Sean & Alexandra Astin
    Peregrin "Pippin" - Billy Boyd
    Meriadoc "Merry" - Dominic Monaghan
    Theoden - Bernard Hill
    Boromir - Sean Bean
    Faramir - David Wenham

Places: Bree, Rohan, Gondor, Mordor, Moria, Shire.

Does anyone have more? Thanks!

Re: "Lord of the Rings" names

Welcome to Nameberry, Maeve22! That's a nice list you've put together. You may enjoy these topics, too:

Tolkien Baby Names
    http://nameberry.com/nametalk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3137

Translating Tolkien Elvish Names
    http://nameberry.com/nametalk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3217

-- Nephele

I really love Arwen. Anwen is similar, and it's a Welsh name. Ailsa is cool, too!

Thank you Nephele for those links, that was exactly what I was looking for. Also, thanks for my Flower Fairy name. I love it! I don't think I had thanked you for doing that (I meant to, but forgot). I also wanted to say that I love your name (or screen name)!