Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

sister for Isla Hope

Hello All! I am new to nameberry, but am finding it very fun & insightful! I saw today the blog post about all of your top 10 favorite names and saw that Isla was on a lot of lists, so I thought you might enjoy this naming challenge!

My dd is 9mo old Isla Hope, and she's as pretty as a picture, stops traffic sort of baby who has been walking since 8 1/2 months and is just the cat's pajamas! She's so much fun, we are working on another!!

If we have a boy next, he'll be Grant William (William is dh's mn, and his father's name - and it's sort of cool b/c Hope was my middle name and I gave it to Isla, so he's going to give William to Grant.)

We are pretty perplexed though on a girl's name. So here is our current list, I will * those that I like, but have yet to sell dh on. That doesn't rule it out in my book though, he didn't like Isla at first either!

My current Favorites:

Marin/Maren/Marina, possible nn Marni* - I'm really excited about this one, but dh is being stubborn about it.
    Freya*
    Gemma*
    Cleo/Clio* - dh really hates this one, reminds him of tv psychic, also we have a male sheep named Cleo, but I love it and think it goes great with Isla
    Ester/Esther*
    Calla* - dh thinks this is too close to Isla sound-wise, plus his ex's ln was callahan so he thinks that's too close. *eye rolling*
    Hazel
    Anabel*
    Camille*
    Aster
    Naomi
    Eliza
    Audrey (this is dh's favorite but I'm not into it, I used to love it but feel it's too popular and doesn't go quite right right Isla)

lol, not many names on this list dh DOES like! Well, what do you all think?

Re: sister for Isla Hope

I really love the name Isla!

Marin/Maren/Marina, possible nn Marni-- I really like Marina, but I think some of your other choices go better with Isla.

Freya-- I'm not personally a fan (it makes me think of something fraying) but it's a nice name

Gemma-- This is really nice!