Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

To Pen Name or Not to Pen Name

That's the question.

I've talked to my editor and he says that pen names are no big deal. You just write your pen name on the manuscript and in the upper corner you right who to make the checks out to and he would handle it. I'm not worried about that. I'm just conflicted about whether I want to or not.

So the questions:

1. Do you even pay attention to author names? (I know I'm guilty of not paying attention if it's my first time picking a book up. Sometimes it's just "That book with the bloody axe on the cover")

2. I know pen names, aside form when they're used for privacy reasons, are used to have a memorable name. Jane Smith might write under J.D Smith or Jane Fairfax of Esmeralda Mayhew to try to have a name people will remember. Which would you be more intrigued by -- Angel Blackwood or Dantea Blackwood (or Wolfwood or Sherwood. It's going to have wood in there somewhere).
    Mother, Hellenic Pagan Priestess, and Resident Greek name expert ^_^ Call me Dantea or Remy

http://covertocoverediting.webs.com/ -- Editing services available for cheap.

Proud Mama to:
    Persephone Elysia Willow -- June 5th 2013
    TTC #2 by Christmas 2014

That sounds like a really tough question. I'm not a published writer (except for on this website and on my own blog) so don't take any of this too seriously...

Regarding #1, I do pay attention to author names. If it's someone I don't already know and love, I'm hesitant to buy and I'm more likely to borrow from the library (for what it's worth).

And it seems like (assuming you're a first-time author) you're making a big commitment upfront by choosing the name you will go by. But Seuss had lots of different pen names and it all worked out okay.