Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Homeschool moms?

My first grader is losing her "spark" for school this year. Clara LOVED pre-k and kindergarten (her preschool offered a kindergarten program and we kept her there. We were so blessed to find such a great school). She's always had a love for school/learning. She started reading at 3, loves tinkering with things. She got a set of goldieblox on her last birthday and put them at the top of her list for Santa - she's also working on building a dollhouse with her dad. So the issues she's having in school aren't related to learning difficulties.

She used to come home from school and talk non stop about what she was learning and things like that. This year I ask her and I get nothing. At parent teacher conferences a few weeks ago her teacher admitted that she seems bored with the work. She said she put in a request for gifted ed services, but our district doesn't start gifted classes until 3rd grade. As a teacher I know and understand why that is. As a parent though it frustrates me to see my daughter not being able to exercise her mind.

My husband and I have been tossing around the idea of home schooling, at least for a few years. I was wondering what peoples experience with homeschooling is?
    Mom to:
    Clara Margaret (9/8/07)
    Oliver Michael (6/18/10)
    and our newest bundle of joy Alice amelia born 10/22/13!!!

And our original babies of the 4 legged variety: Chloe, Jasper and Gilmore (feline litter mates age 8) and Maya - pitbull mix, aged 7)