Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Your first job

Your first job

Ladies, I need your help. I graduated in June, have had one failed job interview and now my parents are on my case about me applying for more positiions at least once a day, and it's doing my head in. It's only been two months, and I've been away for three weeks of that time anyway, and there's honestly not a lot out there in my field, even less that I'm able to do as a new graduate.

Just wondering, those of you that did a degree - how long after graduating did it take you to find work? And for those you who didn't do one, how long did it take after leaving high school/wherever to be employed? I need to prove to my parents that two months isn't a long time really, not enough to warrent all their nagging anyway.

Anna Katherine * Lydia Ellen * Zoe Madeleine * Phoebe ___ * Imogen ___ * Emilia ___
    Samuel * Thomas * Charlie * Reuben * Oliver * George

Well DH worked at a gas station for about 4 months until he found a 'real' job. I got a job right away, but as a teacher didn't actually start getting paid (or working) for 3 or so months. I think in this economy, too, it's even longer realistically. My sister just graduated and hasn't found anything yet.
    Caity
    Mom of Violet Isabelle, George Quincy, & Mae Elizabeth
    In the process of adopting #4 from Haiti.
    Current Favorites:
    . Ruby Madeleine . Felicity Catherine . Beatrice Claire . Robin Marie .
    . Harvey Leopold . Albert Darcy . Ralph Montgomery . Edgar Willoughby .

I'm in the same boat as you, @essjay. I graduated in early May, had several interviews but no offers, and finally took a seasonal position working in a warehouse which I start this week. Not looking forward to it but it will bring in some money until I find something else.