Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Teachers- A Question About Nicknames

I've asked every teacher I know and most say using a nickname/ going by a middle name is no big deal, while others advise to only give your child the name s/he is going to be called. What's your opinion?
    Mom to 2 girls ♥ Bayard McConnell "Bay" & Marguerite Davis "Maple"

I think it is no big deal as long as it is made clear up front which name the child will go by. By "up front" I mean before the first day of school so that the teacher doesn't have to re-make name tags, charts with names, etc.

Funny, though, as a teacher I was adamant to name both of my kids the name that they would be called (no nicknames).

I've been a teacher for 12 years and I think it's pretty common practice to respect what the child desires to be called. So if you call your child by his/her middle name, and so does the child, that's what I'll use. I've never heard of much controversy with nicknames/middle names as name used.

I've been a teacher for 10 years and I have had many students go by a nickname or a middle name. I always ask my students what they like to be called on the first day of school. I have never come across any issues with this. I have had many students go by a middle name, I don't think anything of it.

I say it is not a problem.
    My Teddy Bear (aka my puppy): Rufus (4-24-13)
    Maeve-Keira-Gwen-Eve-Adeline-Claire-Arianne-Lila-Elsa-Mica/Micah-Emmeline-Anna-Lena-Cassia-Faye-Liana-Piper-Violet-Nina-Carys

Rhys-Owen-Flynn-Lucas-Lorcan-Caleb-Ronan-Archer-Graham-Alexander-Henry-Jack-Ian-Seth-Miles-Cian-Sawyer-Emmett

GP: Perseus-Hamish-Mason-Shep-Cassian-Asa-Lavender-Elula-Winter-Mireille-Ophelie-Azalea/Azelie