Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

How much theme is too much theme?

Hi, all. I'm a new-ish member, and as I was setting up my profile I realized my list is starting to look a little comical. What better way to join the community than to jump right on in looking for some opinions, suggestions for my list, discussion, whatever.

Do your lists/kids have a 'theme?' Any similarities besides style (A theme might be repeated sounds/letters, meanings, origins)?

My list currently is: Juniper, Linnea, and Viola. Basil and Jasper. All nature names. Juniper and Basil, plants (Although the name Basil, "Bazz-ill," doesn't originate from the plant as far as I know). Linnea* and Viola, plant genera. And Jasper, a mineral.

(*Edit: I got ahead of myself here. Linnaea is the genus.)

I'm not sure how obvious Viola and Linnea are, so maybe my unintentional theme isn't as obvious as I'm thinking. It's hard for me to be objective about those two as I studied botany, so they have a planty sound ("Planty," I'm using that degree well).

In an extremely hypothetical world, where I might have five kids of the appropriate genders and use these names (Not happening, but hey), what would your impression be?

Thanks!
    Last edited by fhd; June 24th, 2013 at 12:56 PM.
    Juniper / Linnea / Viola
    Benedict / Rhys

I really like themes as a family unifer but it can go to far. (For example, if you are going to have 20 kids like the Duggars trying to use the same first initial as a theme makes for some extremely similar or very strange names - e.g Jinger, Josiah and Joseph.)

My favorite themes are like yours - one where the names are tied together in some fashion but do not sound alike.