Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Bilingual household

I don't have kids yet, so this question is just a daydream.

In the future, I would like to raise my children with two languages in the house but I wouldn't know how to. I know some people who have done this but they were not very helpful when I asked them. Can you Berries help me out with how to do it? I think it would be very helpful for the children when they are older, and a good world skill.

If any Berries out there raise their children bilingually/are planning too/know someone who does or if you have any advice it would be appreciated! Thank you.
    ~Mehri

I'm currently expecting my first child, but I can tell you what worked with my step son when he was a toddler. I started practicing words in English and Spanish with him. I would show him a picture and say the word describing it first in English, make him repeat it, and then in Spanish, making him repeat the word in Spanish again. I'm happy to say that he's in kindergarten and can hold a basic conversation in Spanish. We started about two years ago. It's really just about being consistant. Whether you're using visual aids, or just speaking in both languages. Babies/Children will pick it up pretty quickly either way.

We will be raising our daughter in a bilingual home. One set of grandparents speak English and one speak Polish, DH is bilingual. It'll be tricky for us at the beginning because we aren't both bilingual and he is used to speaking English with me at home, but if we want our children to be able to have a relationship with their whole family, it's necessary. Plus there are so many brain benefits of having a second language early on.