Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

How annoyed are you when yours or your child's name gets mispronounced?

I am a substitute teacher and I sub at several different schools from kindergarten to high school. I always feel bad when I say a name wrong (like when I take attendance in a class for the first time) and I'm not sure how to pronounce someone's name. I always say "I'm sorry if I say this wrong..." or "is this how you say it?" and most people are fine and just give me the correct way to say it. Today a teenage girl seemed so annoyed that I mispronounced her name (which made me annoyed b/c it's not my fault and I just met her for the first time). Her name was Kassia pron Kass-ee-ah and I said -K-asia, oops.

My Q is, do you ever get your name mispronounced and does it bother you? Does your child's name ever get mispronounced and do you wish you would have picked a name that was less confusing to say? Thoughts?

I know as a teacher, being around so many kids, I think it is so important to choose names that are easy to spell and pronounce, that are recognizable but not super common. And I also don't get why some kids are given 4 middle names? Is that a cultural thing?

I have never had any issue with the pronunciation of any of my names (first, middle, I've had two last names, and I'm going onto a third that is pretty straightforward). But my sister Mariah (like Carey) gets Maria all the time. And my poor mother. Her name is spelled Jeanne. It is pronounced like Jean-nee. But she gets Jee-anne and even Janine all the time. So when she introduces herself most times she just says her name is Jean.