Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Educated mothers as SAHM

These days, getting a college education is becoming more the norm, and even expected, for both males and females. The idea is to go to a good school to get a good career, etc. One would assume that a college diploma would be cause enough for a women to get a good career rather than staying home not making any money, right?

I know most people have very strong opinions about being either a stay-at-home-mom or a career mom but does it have to be so black and white? I'm in college and my major is something that would lead me to a single career, something that probably wouldn't be too difficult to find a job either. I recently started talking to my boyfriend about my desires to be a SAHM when we have children, and he wasn't sure about the idea. He thought that after all the money I spent on school, I should put my degree to good use. It wasn't about the money to him; he just didn't see the point in all that schooling if I wasn't going to use it. He sees nothing wrong with being a SAHM, since his own mother was one, but he doesn't see how I can have it both ways.

I explained that college for me was partially just for self-betterment. It was something I wanted. Along with that, if he were ever not able to take care of me, I needed a way to take care of myself. And just because I wanted to be a stay at home mom in the beginning didn't mean I would never have a career. If everything goes as planned and I have kids in my mid-twenties, I could still start a career in my mid-thirties when they are a little older. I would still be young. It's just a lot easier to be in college now before kids than regretting it and going back later.

Just curious, how does everyone else feel about these things?
    Anastasia, Tessa, Marina, Stella
    Connor, Rhett, Corbin, Grayson