Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Red face Writer Berry looking for a pen name

Hi there, berries -

I've posted this in the Writing section but got no responses, so I thought I'd move this here. You've all been so helpful in the past, so I thought I'd enlist your help in this unique request. I'm a budding author, and I love to write, and my goal is to one day write a book that wins some sort of honor or medal. However, I hate my name. My parents decided to be "progressive," so I have a hyphenated last name, which is entirely cumbersome. It's mostly unpronounceable, and it starts with Sh.

My first name is Bailey, which is okay, but I want it to be clear that I'm a girl. And my middle name is Suzanna, if anyone cares. I've been using Bailey Suze as my whole name for a while now, and while I like it, I think I want something a bit more exotic as my pen name.

My genre is young-adult-fiction, but not like Suzanne Collins. More like John Green. (HUGE John Green fan right here. Anyone?) I want something clearly feminine, and something you'll remember. One of my biggest pet peeves is when people add a lot of gratuitous ys to their names, so you get pen names like my friend's, Onyx Safyre, which is fine, but for whatever reason that just really bothers me.

Right now I'm really liking the idea of an A name, so:
    Anna
    Aria
    Avalon
    Antoinette (I keep coming back to Antoinette. Do you guys like it?)
    Aliza (it's a family name)

Some other things that inspire my writing are music and colors, so maybe some sort of something based on that?

As for a last name, I've been using Fabian as a placeholder, but I'm very much open to suggestions. Something that sounds like a name, but doesn't have to be too common. I've also been considering Sparrow, Day, and Marks, which is a family name.

Thanks!

b-a-i-l-e-y

teenberry, writer, feminist, geek.

amelia hazel, charlotte elaine, tierney ray, cadence hermione, genevieve linden.