Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Hybrid View

Names You've Used in Past Stories you Don't Like Anymore

Have you ever looked back at your pre-naming obsession writings, and find some characters who's names you regret using because you realize they're super-popular, too 70s or 80s-sounding, or that you look at differently from your new naming experiences?
    For instance, one of my old stories included an Ella and an Abby as main characters. They fit the characters, but know all I can think about is how popular their names are.
    I'm a young writer who's obsessed with baby names!!!!!!!!
    Favorite names coming soon...
    Elrock13

Yep.

I had a character named Alexia Marie Goldstein nn Lexi/Lexia. Terribly Mary Sueish. She's now Karina Noelle Matthews nn Kari.

Other than her....I know there have been others, but I can't recall them atm. It's been a while.

EDIT:
    I had a B/G sibset of Hayden and Kyla, their surname was Silvers. *shudder*
    Another character named Dalia Alexis, a current character is named Briar-Rose Elisabetta Ettore, but I definitely want to take out some of the Italian, and will probably just name her Briar, middle name Rose and her surname.
    Last edited by east93; January 25th, 2013 at 09:13 PM.
    Laurel - 2O - Aries - Slytherin - University of Toronto

-------
    Newest thoughts for little ones: Angelo - Caspian - Eden | Isabela - Brisa - Gisele

Deffinetly. I had a story with some decent characters names- Helena Louise was the heroine- but there were several that I cringe at. Twins named Aubrey and Audrey, and a sibset of River (male) and Susannah (who went by Susie.)
    Also, I remember I had a story about an unwed Romanian mother living with her deadbeat boyfriend in Northern Ireland. I remember that her son was Jacoby, and her name was Rooney. It deffinetly didn't fit the ethnic background or the character.

I hang my head in naming shame.
    -Athena

Top Girls: Under Construction