Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Parenting styles in your country/area?

Hi everyone,

I was reading an article at the New Yorker about how American children are often spoiled and can be non helpful. I feel like Americans often do everything around their children (where they live, car, vacation, plan their day). I also think American kids just have too much stuff! As a teacher, I have also seen the other extreme -- parents who simply don't care. If you are American, I was wondering if you find this is the case in your city/state?

If you are in another country, how do you find the parenting style in your country? Is it relax (supposedly like the French in the new book Bringing Up Bebe?) or is more success/authoritarian driven(like the Chinese mother in the Tiger Mother book)?

Curious to see everyone's thoughts on this one...

Here is the article if anyone was interested...
    http://www.newyorker.com/arts/critic..._books_kolbert
    Last edited by geauxtee; June 29th, 2012 at 02:09 AM.

As a person who works with children in the US, I can confidently say that the biggest problem American children often seem to have is ENTITLEMENT! (Of course, this is true of many adults as well.) Entitlement runs rampant in virtually every socio-economic status and ethnic background I've been exposed to, (and I've worked with inner-city, suburban, rural, and army base children.) Not only do so many of our children have too much, but they are often not taught how to appreciate any of it.

As with anything, there are always exceptions to the rule and not every child fits into this stereotype. But my experience has led me to believe entitlement is a major concern with American children and families at this time.
    One Beloved Son - Raphael David
    Saved for Later:
    Rosemary, Susannah, Loretta, Georgia, Theodora
    Viggo, Thaddeus, Woodrow, Laszlo