Names Searched Right Now:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Sister for Felicity Katherine

Hello Nameberries!

This is my first time posting, probably because naming our daughter Felicity was so easy and clear cut. But now that I'm pregnant with girl #2, things aren't so easy, and I could use some help and feedback.

RIght now, DH and I don't have too many names on the table. (We just found out the sex, and DH won't talk names until that point. Argh!)

Our last name starts with an H and is one syllable; also kind of masculine sounding, so I tend towards wanting something a bit softer to soften the blow. I also am looking for a name that is recognizable but not overly used.

The names the are on our list at this point are:
    1. Helen (probably Helen Elizabeth)--I love the alliteration of HH, but Helen is so far the only name I can think of that I'd use. (Harper is not our style, a friend has a daughter named Harriet...) My other hesitation is that second daughter would feel like she got the old grandma name (even though I think it is so lovely and classic; compared to Felicity, it is a bit more old-fashioned)
    2. Naomi (possible middle names Alice or Caroline)--not sure how this sounds with Felicity?
    3. Marjorie (nn Jorie) (possible MN Alice or Claire)--how is this name perceived by you guys? My grandma, who I love and adore, is Margery, but I'm not crazy about that spelling. And I think the NN Jorie is really cute and quirky, and sounds cute with Fliss, which is what we call Felicity sometimes. But maybe I'm crazy, and it's a terrible name? Also, what do you think of using a name to honor someone but using a different spelling? My g'ma is the most laid-back woman ever and would be stunned if we used her name, but I still don't know if that's just a major faux pas?

That's pretty much all we have, so we are definitely open to new ideas! (DH is pretty traditional so he's the tougher one to sell)